Skip to content

happy new year!

1 January 2011

A funeral is an interesting way to begin a new year.  It creates an unparalleled opportunity to reflect on life and death and life.  We watched the many facets of a man unfold before us today – husband, brother, father, grandfather, uncle, friend, humble servant of our Creator – each of us with a unique perspective on the life of this being.  It was a beautiful service and amidst the stories and slides and hymns, I recalled a thousand things I wanted to tell my grandma who has been gone from us for over ten years now [like how grateful I am that you taught me to read when I was such a wee girl, and that I can still remember your laugh, and how I secretly loved the affection that you openly gave my grandpa (as much as I understood such things, I thought it was romantic), and how very much I wish you were here so you could know my daughter – she’s brilliant and audacious and captivating – I named her after you]…and I thought of a thousand more that I want to tell my grandma who is still here [like how my love of cooking began in your kitchen when I was a little girl, and how I remember feeling so secure watching you hang clothes on the line in the backyard, and that I’m sorry that we never got to travel together, and how grateful I am for everything you’ve taught and continue to teach me and for every moment that my daughter gets to know her “Mea”…I think you’re the bravest woman I’ve ever known].

Enrique…I will miss your stories, your genuine smile, and quick wit.  Thank you for your efforts to teach me Spanish and for the blessing you gave each time we saw each other, “May the good Lord bless you and keep you and your precious daughter.”  Yes, may He.  May He keep you as well, my friend.  Vaya con Dios.  Catch you on the flip side.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

